The story of the Chrysler Minority Dealers Association (“CMDA”)  is a story about teamwork. In 1951, Rufus Dukes was the first African American person to be given and equity position in a Chrysler Franchise as a Chicago sub – dealer for Parts and Service. In 1963, Ed Davis was the first African American person to be award a Chrysler (Plymouth) franchise. There was only one minority owned Chrysler dealership in the United States in 1968 and thus, the Chrysler Corporation established the first informal minority dealer training program in 1968 in an effort to meet the specific needs and ensure the success of minority-owned dealers, (including Chrysler/Plymouth, Dodge and Jeep/Eagle).


At a May 31, 1980 meeting of the National Association of Minority Automobile Dealers, (“NAMAD”)  there were six African-American Chrysler dealers in attendance and they concluded there was a need to establish their own organization to represent themselves on issues unique to Chrysler. Although their numbers in comparison to both Ford and GM were small, they believed it important to have their own 'voice' and thus, the Chrysler Black Dealer Association was established.  Jesse J. Jones of Detroit, Michigan was the founder of the organization. The founding dealers in attendance were:




Keith Bullard

Ted Cochran

Jesse Jones

Doug Lambert

Frank Perry

Fred Rhodes

Franchise - Date- Location


Chrysler-Plymouth-1978/Philadelphia, PA

Dodge-1968/San Francisco, CA

Dodge-1980/Ferndale, MI

Chrysler-Plymouth-1971-Coatsville, PA

Chrylser-Plymouth-1979-South Hill, VA

Chrysler-Plymouth-1973-Tuskeegee, AL

In the summer of 1984, the Black Chrysler Dealer Council was established which met with Tom Pappert, Chrysler’s Vice President-Sales, on a frequent basis to discuss key issues affecting African-American dealers. Mr. Jones and the members brought their concern to the management of the Chrysler Corporation that additional efforts were needed to retain and grow the number of minority owned dealerships. Together, a group of visionaries designed a program that would prove to be the benchmark of the automobile industry. The Chrysler Black Dealers Association was formally incorporated in 1989.  In 1991, the Association changed its name to the Chrysler Minority Dealers Association to reflect the diversity of its membership.




           CMDA Presidents:

Jesse J. Jones, Jr. Founding President
Keith Bullard 1985 – 1986
Omar Letterman 1986 – 1987
William E. McIntosh, Jr. 1987 – 1992
N. Edward Fitzpatrick 1992 – 1994
Theresa C. Jones 1994 – 1996
Winston R. Pittman 1996 – 1999
Sanford L. Woods 1999 – 2001
Steve R. Rojas 2001 – 2003
Jesse J. Greathouse 2003 - 2008
Reginald T. Hubbard 2008 - 2009
Jerome Dillard 2009 - 2011
Carlos Hidalgo 2012 - 2013

Ralph Martinez 2013 - 2014

Damian Mills 2015 - 2016

James Davis 2016 - 2018

Ray Fregia 2018